Texas Vaccine Institute provider information:
- WHO: Accepting insured and uninsured
- PRICE: $15 for one immunization; $25 for two, $30 for three or more for the REQUIRED STATE IMMUNIZATIONS
- BRING: Campus Nurse provided “PARENT NOTIFICATION OF IMMUNIZATION DUE NOTIFICATION”, Personal Immunization Record, Insurance Card if insured
- Accepting Cash/Credit/Debit Cards
- Pfizer COVID vaccine, NO COST, provide insurance card if insured
- Time: 2:00PM – 5:00PM
- Location: Martha Aki Project Tyke building
- September 9th
- October 21st
- November 4th
- December 2nd
- January 20th
- February 3rd
- March 10th
- April 7th
- May 5th
If you find that you have omitted a medication that your student must have before coming home at the end of the day, please bring this medication in the original container to the clinic personnel. Interrupting classes for student medication is discouraged. The student will be called between classes.
If your student is ill, please encourage them to come to the clinic. Any communication regarding illness should come from the clinic in order for the absence to be excused.
Please keep in mind that KISD has a 24-hour rule regarding fever, vomiting, and diarrhea. Keep your student home until they are free of any of these symptoms for 24 hours.
Sick Students with Cell Phones
Students who contact their parents by personal cell phone for medication or for an illness or injury that has not been assessed by the nurse will be handled through Attendance and, if taken home, will be dismissed as a parent excused absence.
Proof of immunization must be provided during registration. Student immunizations must be as up-to-date as medically feasible and must be certified by a doctor or public health official. A student will not be allowed to attend class if immunization records are not presented at enrollment. A full list of required immunizations, including information about provisional enrollment, can be downloaded here. For more information, contact the Katy ISD Health Services department at 281-396-2629.
Katy ISD follows the Texas Department of State Health Services recommendation for immunization compliance in order for a student to attend school. The law requires that all students be up-to-date as medically feasible in order to attend classes. The immunization vaccine requirements for each grade level are listed on the Katy ISD website. Exemptions to the immunization requirements are allowable on an individual basis for medical contraindications, reasons for conscience-including religious belief, and active duty with the armed forces of the United States.
For further information, visit the Texas Department of State Health Services.
When a student's absence for personal illness exceeds five (5) consecutive days, the student must return to school with a statement from a physician or health clinic verifying the illness or other condition requiring the student's extended absence from school. A student who has been absent for a total of eight (8) cumulative days will be required to bring a note from a physician or health clinic verifying the illness or other condition. In either of the above instances, all future absences will also require a note from a physician or health clinic or the student may be taken to school within the first hour of the school day to be assessed by the nurse in an effort to determine whether any symptoms of the communicable illness exist that would prevent the student from attending class. Therefore, any time a student is absent and is seen by a health care professional, a note from the health care professional is always in the best interest of the student, so that the absence can be specified as either a doctor or health care appointment (for a full or partial day) rather than for personal illness.
Students who become ill at school are sent to the clinic for evaluation by the campus nurse. The campus nurse will call the parent if a student needs to go home or needs to talk personally to the parent. An ill student must leave school through the clinic.
Keep your child at home if he/she has a fever of 100.0 degrees or higher, is vomiting, or has diarrhea. Students must be symptom-free for at least 24 hours without preventative medication. (For a student sent home from the clinic, at a minimum, the 24-hour rule begins when the student is signed out from school.)
Jennifer Jenkins, RN, BSN
Phone: (281) 234-2126
Fax: (281) 644-1886
Caroline Rush, Clinic Aide
Phone: (281) 234-2290